Balmoral Reserve Additional Playground Equipment

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

Update - June 2021

The concept plan for the additional playground equipment at Balmoral Reserve is now available. Community feedback indicated that people were interested in seeing new equipment that includes a mix of adventure and nature play opportunities. We are responding to this with the addition of a 'play tower' which aims to provide users with a new, challenging and creative play opportunity at Balmoral.

Community Engagement Outcomes Report

Concept Plan (2 pages)

Update - March 2021

This consultation closed on 5 March 2021. We are currently reviewing feedback received to help guide the development of a playground concept design. Once the concept plan is complete, it will be shared here for your information.

Background

We are inviting the community to provide feedback on the installation of additional playground equipment at Balmoral Reserve (located on Balmoral Road, Dernancourt).

Balmoral Reserve is an important open space and ‘play’ resource for the Dernancourt community, as well as the broader community. We want to better understand how you currently use the space and what changes you would like to see. We seek your ideas on the style of the additional playground, equipment type and the landscaping of the adjacent area.

More information about this proposal is available in the Information Sheet.

So you can provide informed feedback, its important for you to review the three equipment style information sheets:

Please note: The design of the new play area(s) will consider and incorporate the principles of inclusive play. Further information about each style of equipment is included on the online project page, please review this information to assist you in making your selection.

To get involved and have your say:

  • Review the equipment style information sheets in the document library
  • Register here under Profile (if you haven't already, otherwise you can sign in when prompted)
  • Provide feedback by completing the online feedback form
  • Have a question? Ask us here. Have a look to see what questions have already been answered below

Once the community engagement closes , all feedback that is received will be collated and used to guide the creation of the Playground Concept Design for Balmoral Reserve.

Update - June 2021

The concept plan for the additional playground equipment at Balmoral Reserve is now available. Community feedback indicated that people were interested in seeing new equipment that includes a mix of adventure and nature play opportunities. We are responding to this with the addition of a 'play tower' which aims to provide users with a new, challenging and creative play opportunity at Balmoral.

Community Engagement Outcomes Report

Concept Plan (2 pages)

Update - March 2021

This consultation closed on 5 March 2021. We are currently reviewing feedback received to help guide the development of a playground concept design. Once the concept plan is complete, it will be shared here for your information.

Background

We are inviting the community to provide feedback on the installation of additional playground equipment at Balmoral Reserve (located on Balmoral Road, Dernancourt).

Balmoral Reserve is an important open space and ‘play’ resource for the Dernancourt community, as well as the broader community. We want to better understand how you currently use the space and what changes you would like to see. We seek your ideas on the style of the additional playground, equipment type and the landscaping of the adjacent area.

More information about this proposal is available in the Information Sheet.

So you can provide informed feedback, its important for you to review the three equipment style information sheets:

Please note: The design of the new play area(s) will consider and incorporate the principles of inclusive play. Further information about each style of equipment is included on the online project page, please review this information to assist you in making your selection.

To get involved and have your say:

  • Review the equipment style information sheets in the document library
  • Register here under Profile (if you haven't already, otherwise you can sign in when prompted)
  • Provide feedback by completing the online feedback form
  • Have a question? Ask us here. Have a look to see what questions have already been answered below

Once the community engagement closes , all feedback that is received will be collated and used to guide the creation of the Playground Concept Design for Balmoral Reserve.

Q and A

Ask us a question about the additional playground equipment for Balmoral Reserve.

Note: please do not send questions here that are not relevant to this proposal. Questions about general Council matters please contact Customer Service 

loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Hello, I’m a resident of Dernancourt and we’re a family of four. My children will love this new playground! When will construction begin?

    AnnaJ asked 5 months ago

    Hi AnnaJ, thanks for your question and interest in the playground at Balmoral Reserve. The upgrade works are close to being finished, with the anticipated completion date and opening to the public this Friday (16 September).
    Kind regards, Joanne

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I haven't noticed a flying fox. These are popular with children, the one at Valley View playground near North East Road is extremely popular because it's reachable. Whereas the Banksia Park Playground on Spring St. is very high and too difficult for most primary school children to reach.

    NW asked almost 2 years ago

    Hi NW

    Thanks for your comments. A flying fox is something we would consider, however as it is a large piece of equipment it would depend on the cost and available budget. Your suggestion will be included along with the other community feedback we receive.

    If you haven't already, we encourage you to provide further feedback via the online feedback form.

    Kind regards, Sarah

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Is adult outdoor exercise equipment an option?

    MurrayE asked almost 2 years ago

    Good morning MurrayE

    Thank you for your question regarding the Balmoral Reserve Additional Playground Equipment proposal. Currently adult fitness equipment is not being considered for this stage of works. Thank you, your question has been noted and will be considered as part of any future works on the site. 

    Kind regards, Jo

Page last updated: 04 Jul 2022, 03:48 PM